Water 2030

Funding and Partners


North Carolina Congressional Delegation 

North Carolina's representatives in Washington worked with the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency to secure a $1.2 million grant in support of the Water 2030 Initiative.


N.C. General Assembly

As part of its ongoing support for water and sewer programs, the General Assembly appropriated $400,000 to support the Water 2030 Initiative.


North Carolina Clean Water Management Trust Fund

Created in 1996, the fund makes grants to local governments, state agencies and nonprofits to help finance projects that address water pollution problems. It awarded the center a $500,000 grant for the Water 2030 Initiative.


North Carolina Rural Economic Development Center

The center contributed $400,000 to support the Water 2030 Initiative.



N.C. Association of Regional Councils

The association of the state's 17 councils of governments served as the project's liaison with local government managers, public utility directors and major industrial public water users statewide. Members organized informational meetings for local government officials in advance of the project, served as trouble-shooters for research consultants, and convened regional meetings for the release of project findings.


N.C. Center for Geographic Information and Analysis

CGIA provided geographic information systems services to support the Water 2030 Initiative, with special focus on quality assurance and quality control for digital data pertaining to water, sewer and stormwater infrastructure in all 100 North Carolina counties.


AMEC Earth and Environmental, Inc.

AMEC conducted the water resources inventory and developed water supply and demand projections for Water 2030.


Hobbs, Upchurch & Associates, P.A.

Hobbs, Upchurch & Associates collected and analyzed water, sewer and stormwater information for 48 counties: Beaufort, Bertie, Bladen, Brunswick, Camden, Carteret, Chowan, Columbus, Craven, Cumberland, Currituck, Dare, Duplin, Durham, Edgecombe, Franklin, Gates, Greene, Halifax, Harnett, Hertford, Hoke, Hude, Johnston, Jones, Lee, Lenoir, Matin, Moore, Nash, New Hanover, Northampton, Onslow, Pamlico, Pasquotank, Pender, Onslow, Pamlico, Pasquotank, Pender, Perquimans, Pitt, Robeson, Sampson, Scotland, Tyrrell, Vance, Wake, Warren, Washington, Wayne and Wilson.


McGill Associates, P.A.

McGill collected and analyzed water, sewer and stormwater information for 52 counties: Alamance, Alexander, Alleghany, Anson, Ashe, Avery, Buncombe, Burke, Cabarrus, Caldwell, Caswell, Catawba, Chatham, Cherokee, Clay, Cleveland, Davidson, Davie, Forsyth, Gaston, Graham, Granville, Guilford, Haywood, Henderson, Iredell, Jackson, Lincoln, Macon, Madison, McDowell, Mecklenburg, Mitchell, Montgomery, Orange, Person, Polk, Randolph, Richmond, Rockingham, Rowan, Rutherford, Stanly, Stokes, Surry, Swain, Transylvania, Union, Watauga, Wilkes, Yadkin and Yancey.


Advisory Committee

The advisory committee brought to the Water 2030 Initiative the expertise of people representing economic development, agriculture, the environment, education, and business and industry. The committee met twice, in March and November 2004, during the first phase of the project.  Members were:


David Thompson, Executive Director, N.C. Association of County Commissioners

Rolf Blizzard, Vice President, N.C. Citizens for Business and Industry

Ralph Clark, City Manager, Kinston, Neuse River Water and Sewer Authority

Britt Cobb, Commissioner, N.C. Department of Agriculture

John Cooper, State Director, Rural Development, U.S. Department of Agriculture

Jim Fain, Secretary, N.C. Department of Commerce

Bill Gibson, Chair, Infrastructure Committee, N.C. Rural Center

Ellis Hankins, Executive Director, N.C. League of Municipalities

Bill Holman, Executive Director, Clean Water Management Trust Fund

Preston Howard, President, Manufacturers and Chemical Industry Council

James Leutze, Chancellor Emeritus, The University of North Carolina at Wilmington

Beau Mills, Director of Intergovernmental Relations, N.C. Metropolitan Coalition

Richard Moore, State Treasurer, N.C. Department of State Treasurer

Jimmy Palmer, Regional Administrator, EPA: Region IV

James Perry, Chief Administrator, Lumber River Council of Governments

Bill Ross, Secretary, N.C. Department of Environment and Natural Resources

Mikki Sager, Executive Director, The Conservation Fund

John Peterson, Executive Director, Economic Developers Association

Paul Wilms, Director of Governmental Affairs, Home Builders Association

Larry Wooten, President, N.C. Farm Bureau

Billy Ray Hall and Jeans Crews-Klein, Co-Chairs, Rural Economic Development Center


Technical Committee

Members of the technical committee provided guidance on specific aspects of the Water 2030 Initiative. Their expertise included such areas as water resources, law, geographic information systems and government. The technical committee met monthly during the project. Members were:


Ray Batchelor, Planning, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers

George Givens, Staff Attorney, North Carolina Legislature

Tim Johnson, Director, N.C. Center for Geographic Information and Analysis

John Morris, Director, Division of Water Resources, N.C. Department of Environment and Natural Resources

Gerry Ryan, District Chief, Water Resources, U.S. Geological Survey

Richard Spruill, Associate Professor, Department of Geology, East Carolina University

Richard Whisnant, Associate Professor of Public Law and Government, Institute of Government, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill